

## The Corporation of the Town of Grimsby Administration

Office of the Town Clerk 160 Livingston Avenue, Grimsby, ON L3M 0J5

**Phone:** 905-945-9634 Ext. 2171 | **Fax:** 905-945-5010

Email: vsteele@grimsby.ca

April 9, 2025

SENT VIA E-MAIL

mark.carney@parl.gc.ca

The Right Honourable Mark Carney Prime Minister of Canada 80 Wellington Street Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2

Attention: The Right Honourable Mark Carney

RE: Manufacturing of Emergency Response Vehicles in Canada

Please be advised that the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Grimsby at its meeting held on March 31, 2025, passed the following resolution at the recommendation of the Town of Grimsby and Town of Lincoln's Joint Fire Services Advisory Committee:

Moved by: Councillor Delight Davoli Seconded by: Mayor Sandra Easton

Whereas fire protection services are a critical component of public safety in every Canadian municipality;

And whereas the majority of fire trucks and emergency response vehicles and their associated major components are currently manufactured outside of Canada, contributing to extended delivery times, rising costs, and supply chain vulnerabilities:

And whereas building fire trucks domestically would strengthen Canada's emergency preparedness, create high-quality skilled jobs, stimulate local economies, reduce risk and exposures due to tariffs, and reduce dependence on foreign suppliers;

## RE: Manufacturing of Emergency Response Vehicles in Canada

And whereas Canadian municipalities continue to experience increased demand for reliable and timely delivery of fire and emergency service vehicles due to growth and modernization of fleets;

Therefore be it resolved that the Joint Fire Services Advisory Committee recommend to the Councils of the Town of Lincoln and Grimsby calls on the Government of Canada and Province of Ontario to explore opportunities to incentivize and support the manufacturing of fire trucks and emergency response vehicles within Canada;

And further that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Prime Minister of Canada, Premier of Ontario, the Federal Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, the Federal Minister of Public Safety, the Ontario Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade, the Ontario Minister of Public and Business Service Delivery, the Ontario Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM), Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO), the Region of Niagara, Local Area Municipalities, and local MPs and MPPs for their consideration and support.

If you require any additional information, please reach out.

Regards,

Victoria Steele

Town Clerk

## RE: Manufacturing of Emergency Response Vehicles in Canada

CC: The Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario premier@ontario.ca: The Honourable Melanie Joly, Minister of Foreign Affairs Melanie.joly@parl.gc.ca; The Honourable David McGuinty, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness David.mcguinty@parl.gc.ca; The Honourable Vic Fedeli, Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade Vic.fedeli@pc.ola.org; The Honourable Stephen Crawford, Minister of Public and Business Service Delivery and Procurement Stephen.crawford@pc.ola.org; The Honourable Rob Flack, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing Rob.flack@pc.ola.org; Federation of Canadian Municipalities resolutions@fcm.ca; Association of Municipalities of Ontario policy@amo.on.ca; Julie Kirkelos, Clerk, Town of Lincoln jkirkelos@lincoln.ca; Jessica Dyson, Director of Legal and Legislative Services, Township of West Lincoln jdyson@westlincoln.ca; Amber Chrastina, Clerk, Township of Wainfleet achrastina@wainfleet.ca: Tara Stephens. Clerk, City of Welland tara.stephens@welland.ca; Peter Todd, Clerk, Town of Fort Erie ptodd@forterie.ca; Sarah Leach, Clerk, Town of Pelham sleach@pelham.ca; Bill Matson, Clerk, City of Niagara Falls bmatson@niagarafalls.ca; Charlotte Cooper-Madden, Clerk, City of Port Colborne cityclerk@portcolborne.ca; Donna Delvecchio. Clerk, City of St. Catharines ddelvecchio@stcatharines.ca; Nicholas Debono, Clerk, City of Thorold clerk@thorold.ca; Grant Bivol, Clerk, Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake clerks@notl.com: Ann-Marie Norio. Clerk. Region of Niagara annmarie.norio@niagararegion.ca; Dean Allison, MP Niagara West dean.allison@parl.gc.ca; Tony Baldinelli, MP Niagara Falls-Niagara-on-the-Lake Tony.Baldinelli@parl.gc.ca; Chris Bittle MP St. Catharines chris.bittle@parl.gc.ca; Vance Badawey MP Niagara South vance.badawey@parl.gc.ca; Sam Oosterhoff MPP Niagara West Sam.Oosterhoff@pc.ola.org; Wayne Gates MPP Niagara Falls wgatesgp@ndp.on.ca; Jennie Stevens MPP St. Catharines jstevens-gp@ndp.on.ca; Jeff Burch MPP Niagara Centre jburch-qp@ndp.on.ca