

Community Services

Legislative Services

May 31, 2022 File #120203

Sent via email: ann-marie.norio@niagararegion.ca

Ann-Marie Norio, Regional Clerk Niagara Region 1815 Sir Isaac Brock Way, P. O. Box 1042 Thorold, ON L2V 4T7

Dear Ms. Norio:

Re: Niagara Region's Motion – Voluntary Russian Sanction Request

Please be advised the Municipal Council of the Town of Fort Erie at its meeting of May 30, 2022 received and supported the Region's correspondence dated May 19, 2022 regarding the following:

- Denouncing Russia's unjustifiable invasion of he sovereign nation of Ukraine,
- Supporting sanctions that the Federal Government of Canada has thus far imposed on Russia,
- Advising any Regional Councillor who wishes to be may voluntarily sanctioned indicate their support
- Regional Chair to send correspondence to the Consulate General of the Russian Federation naming those Councillors who indicated their support, resulting in their "indefinite ban from entering Russia",
- Forwarding to all municipalities in Ontario requesting they consider enacting similar measures in order to present a united front and support the citizens of Ukraine.

A copy of your correspondence dated May 19, 2022, is attached.

Yours very truly,

Carol Schofield, Dipl.M.A.

Cuf Schofuel

Manager, Legislative Services/Clerk

cschofield@forterie.ca

CS:dlk Attach

c.c.

Jennifer Stevens, MPP - St. Catharines JStevens-CO@ndp.on.ca

Jeff Burch, MPP - Niagara Centre JBurch-QP@ndp.on.ca

Wayne Gates, MPP - Niagara Falls wgates-co@ndp.on.ca

Sam Oosterhoff, MPP - Niagara West-Glanbrook sam.oosterhoff@pc.ola.org

Dean Ellison, MP, Niagara West dean.allison@parl.gc.ca
Chris Bittle, MP - St. Catharines Chris.Bittle@parl.gc.ca

Vance Badaway, MP - Niagara Centre Vance.Badawey@parl.gc.ca

Tony Baldinelli, MP, Niagara Falls tony.baldinelli@parl.gc.ca

Association of Municipalities of Ontario AMO@amo.on.ca

Federation of Canadian Municipalities resolutions@fcm.ca

All Ontario Municipalities

Office Hours 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Web-site: www.forterie.ca



Administration

Office of the Regional Clerk

1815 Sir Isaac Brock Way, PO Box 1042, Thorold, ON L2V 4T7 Telephone: 905-980-6000 Toll-free: I-800-263-7215 Fax: 905-687-4977

www.niagararegion.ca

May 25, 2022

CL 10-2022, May 19, 2022

DISTRIBUTION LIST

SENT ELECTRONICALLY

Re: **Motion - Voluntary Russian Sanction Request**

Whereas Russia's unprovoked and brazen invasion of the sovereign nation of Ukraine has been unequivocally condemned by the majority of the free world, including by those living and working in Niagara;

Whereas the death and destruction caused by Russia's senseless invasion will have a lasting impact on the innocent and independent citizens of Ukraine;

Whereas Russia has placed sanctions on many Canadian premiers, mayors, journalists, military officials as well as senior staff in the federal government, "indefinitely" banning these individuals from entering Russia;

Whereas those Russian sanctions include Toronto Mayor John Tory and Ottawa Mayor Jim Watson:

Whereas the residents and businesses of Niagara stand in solidarity with the people of Ukraine and the proud Ukrainian-Canadian community who call our region home:

Whereas Niagara Region continues to be a willing host to those Ukrainian citizens fleeing their homeland during this challenging time, providing support through the Region's Community Services Department as well as number of other local agencies:

Whereas silence may be interpreted as complicity; and

Whereas any sanctions placed on Niagara's elected officials be considered wholly ineffective and be received as a demonstration of Niagara's steadfast commitment to support Ukraine during this time.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED:

1. That Niagara Regional Council unequivocally **DENOUNCES** Russia's unjustifiable invasion of the sovereign nation of Ukraine;



- 2. That Niagara Regional Council **SUPPORTS** all of the sanctions that the Federal Government of Canada has thus far imposed on Russia;
- 3. That any Regional Councillor who wishes to be voluntarily sanctioned **INDICATE** their support by advising the Regional Chair's Office by phone or email by no later than Friday, May 20 at 4:30 p.m.;
- 4. That the Regional Chair **BE DIRECTED** to send correspondence to the Consulate General of the Russian Federation with the names of the Regional Councillors who have indicated their support to be voluntarily sanctioned, resulting in their "indefinite" ban from entering Russia;
- 5. That the Regional Clerk **BE DIRECTED** to circulate this motion to Niagara's 12 local councils, local area MPs, MPPs, AMO, and FCM; and
- 6. That this motion **BE FORWARDED** to all other municipalities in Ontario, requesting they consider enacting similar measures in order to present a united front and support the citizens of Ukraine.

Yours truly,

Ann-Marie Norio Regional Clerk CLK-C 2022-079

amb

Distribution List
Local Area Councils
Chris Bittle, Member of Parliament, St. Catharines
Vance Badawey, Member of Parliament, Niagara Centre
Tony Baldinelli, Member of Parliament, Niagara Falls
Dean Allison, Member of Parliament, Niagara West
Jennie Stevens, Member of Provincial Parliament, St. Catharines
Jeff Burch, Member of Provincial Parliament, Niagara Centre
Wayne Gates, Member of Provincial Parliament, Niagara Falls
Sam Oosterhoff, Member of Provincial Parliament, Niagara West
Association of Municipalities Ontario
Federation of Canadian Municipalities
All Ontario Municipalities