

Development and Legislative Services

Municipal Offices: 66 Charlotte Street Port Colborne, Ontario L3K 3C8 • www.portcolborne.ca

T 905.835.2900 ext. 106 **F** 905.834.5746

E cityclerk@portcolborne.ca

June 14, 2023

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Queen's Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1 premier@ontario.ca The Honourable Sylvia Jones Minister of Health 5th Floor, 777 Bay Street Toronto, ON M7A 1Z8 Sylvia.Jones@pc.ola.org

Honourable and Dear Sir:

Honourable and Dear Madam:

Re: Maintenance of Port Colborne Urgent Care Centre Hours of Operation

Please be advised that, at its meeting of June 13, 2023, the Council of The Corporation of the City of Port Colborne resolved as follows:

Whereas the City of Port Colborne has experienced continuously reduced hospital services since the Provincial Government implemented the Hospital Restructuring Plan in 1998; and

Whereas on May 31, 2023, Niagara Health announced that they are reducing the hours of operation for the Port Colborne and Fort Erie Urgent Care Centres by half as of July 5, 2023;

Now, therefore, be it resolved:

That the Council of the City of Port Colborne calls on Niagara Health to reverse its decision to reduce hours at the Port Colborne Urgent Care Centre effective July 5, 2023, and ensure a continuation of full-service hours, 24 hours per day, 7 days per week;

That the Council of the City of Port Colborne requests that Niagara Health work with the City of Port Colborne to secure the necessary human resources and funding required to permit Niagara Health to continue operation of the Port Colborne Urgent Care Centre on a full-time basis;

That the Council of the City of Port Colborne calls on the provincial government to work with Port Colborne and Niagara Health to facilitate the creation of a provincially funded health team for Port Colborne, either stand-alone or in conjunction with the Town of Fort Erie, to meet the immediate and long-term primary, urgent and associated health care needs of our residents:

That the Council of the City of Port Colborne calls on the provincial and federal governments to immediately take all steps necessary to alleviate the chronic staffing shortages experienced in our hospitals and health care systems, including implementing streamlined processes to permit individuals qualified to practice as doctors, nurses and other health professionals in other countries to practice their profession in Canada;

That Council directs the Chief Administrative Officer to collaborate with the Town of Fort Erie's Chief Administrative Officer to develop options for Council to consider, for creation of a business plan, that would include identifying resources and funding required, to meet the immediate and long-term health care needs of residents of Port Colborne; and

That the City Clerk be directed to deliver a copy of this resolution to Ontario Premier, Doug Ford; Ontario Minister of Health, Sylvia Jones; President and CEO of Niagara Health, Lynn Guerriero; the Board of Directors of Niagara Health; Prime Minister of Canada, Justin Trudeau; Minister of Health for Canada, Jean-Yves Duclos; Mayor of Fort Erie, Wayne Redekop; Region of Niagara Chair, Jim Bradley; Niagara Regional Councillors; all Niagara Members of Ontario Provincial Parliament; all Niagara Members of Federal Parliament; Executive Director of the Niagara Chapter of Native Women, Wendy Sturgeon; Niagara Health Coalition; and all municipalities in Niagara for their consideration and support.

Sincerely.

Charlotte Madden

C. Madden

City Clerk

CC.

Lynn Guerriero, President and CEO, Niagara Health: Lynn.Guerriero@niagarahealth.on.ca

The Board of Directors of Niagara Health: Danielle.Dube@niagarahealth.on.ca

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada: <u>Justin.Trudeau@parl.gc.ca</u> The Honourable Jean-Yves Duclos, Federal Minister of Health: jean-yves.duclos@parl.gc.ca

Wayne Redekop, Mayor, Town of Fort Erie: wredekop@forterie.ca

Jim Bradley, Chair, Region of Niagara: jim.bradley@niagararegion.ca
Niagara Regional Councillors: Clerk@niagararegion.ca

Jeff Burch, MPP, Niggara Centre: jburch-qp@ndp.on.ca

Sam Oosterhoff, MPP, Niagara West: sam.oosterhoff@pc.ola.org
Jennifer Stevens, MPP, St. Catharines: JStevens-co@ndp.on.ca
Wayne Gates, MPP, Niagara Falls: wgates-co@ndp.on.ca

Vance Badawey, MP, Niagara Centre: vance.badawey@parl.gc.ca
Dean Allison, MP, Niagara West: dean.allison@parl.gc.ca

Chris Bittle, MP, St. Catharines: chris.bittle@parl.gc.ca
Tony Baldinelli, MP, Niagara Falls: Tony.Baldinelli@parl.gc.ca

Wendy Sturgeon, Executive Director of the Niagara Chapter of Native Women: edncnw@gmail.com

Niagara Health Coalition: niagarahealthcoalition@yahoo.ca

Local Area Municipalities