

June 4, 2021

Standing Committee on Health Sixth Floor, 131 Queen Street House of Commons Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6

Via email: HESA@parl.gc.ca

Petition to the House of Commons re: Declaration of National Emergency on Mental Health

Please be advised that the City of Niagara Falls' City Council at its meeting of June 1, 2021 adopted the following motion:

Whereas:

- Several provinces have declared emergencies on various circumstances over time;
- Canada is allowed to declare national emergencies under the Emergencies Act, 1985;
- Approximately 1 in 5 Canadians will experience a mental health problem or illness;
- The economic burden of mental illness in Canada is estimated at 51 billion dollars per year (including healthcare costs, lost productivity, and reductions in health-related quality of life) (CAMH);
- Not addressing mental health issues/illness is costly in the long-term to Canada's economy; and
- According to a recent Morneau Shephard poll, 50% of Canadians reported that their mental health has worsened with the COVID-19 pandemic, with mental health related hospitalizations, crisis-line use, and addiction rates skyrocketing.
- That Council for the City of Niagara Falls direct the City Clerk to circulate the endorsement to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Members of the Standing Committee on Health, Premier Doug Ford, Minister of Health Patty Hajdu, MP Dean Allison, MPP Sam Oosterhoff, the Niagara Region and Local Area Municipalities.

We, the Council of the City of Niagara Falls, call upon the **House of Commons** to launch a study in the Standing Committee on Health (HESA) on the merits of declaring a national emergency on mental health.

I trust that this information will be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Bill Matson City Clerk

cc. The Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada, Justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca
The Honourable Patty Hajdu, Minister of Health, Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca
Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario, doug.fordco@pc.ola.org
Tony Baldinelli, MP, Niagara Falls tony.baldinelli@parl.gc.ca
Chris Bittle, MP, St. Catharines chris.bittle@parl.gc.ca
Vance Badawey, MP, Niagara Centre vance.badawey@parl.gc.ca
Wayne Gates, MPP, wgates-co@ndp.on.ca
Dean Allison, Niagara West MPP, dean.allison@parl.gc.ca
Sam Oosterhoff, Niagara West MPP, sam.ooserhoff@pc.ola.org

Ann-Marie Norio, Regional Clerk, <u>ann-marie.norio@niagararegion.ca</u>
Local Niagara Municipalities